Legal Cannabis in Colorado
It is legal under Colorado law for adults 21 years of age and over to possess and transfer for no remuneration up to one ounce of cannabis. Private cultivation of up to six marijuana plants is also legal under state law.
The State of Colorado issues licenses to the following types of marijuana businesses: retail marijuana store, retail marijuana cultivation, retail marijuana manufacturer, retail marijuana transporter, and retail marijuana operator. The state has a separate regulatory and licensing scheme for medical marijuana businesses, which you can read more about here.
Colorado is currently accepting applications for recreational retail marijuana business licenses.
Things to Know before You Apply for a Colorado License:
- Colorado has a two-tiered licensing system, so retail businesses must obtain state licenses AND comply with city/county ordinances and permitting.
- Retail business license applicants need to be current residents of Colorado and have been living in the state for at least two years.
- The application fee for state licenses ranges from $2000 to $4500 depending on the type of business. Applicants will owe a separate local application fee to their city/county ranging from $500 to $2000.
Visit Colorado's Marijuana Business Owners Page to learn more about the application process, and read through the laws and regulations below. You can apply for a Colorado retail marijuana business license here.
The Colorado Department of Revenue, Marijuana Enforcement Division has implemented the "Retail Marijuana Rules" governing the cultivation and sale of recreational marijuana.